Top Back to Overview
Show only Direct Results
Show All Related Results
Back to Category-Overview
Back to Category-Search
(1 of 7 images)

Black Box No. 17

Artist: Various

Year: 1979
Country: United States
Catalog No: Watershed Tapes – C-
Format: Tape-2
A1 –Rochelle Owens Joe City 12:40
A2 –Lou Lipsitz Breaking The Ice  
A2 –Lou Lipsitz Brooklyn Summer  
A3 –Lou Lipsitz The Night Before The Election, 1968  
A4 –Lou Lipsitz Love And War  
A5 –Lou Lipsitz Non-Autobiography  
A6 –Ed Kaplan Rain Poem 8:35
B1 –Michael Dennis Browne Meteors, August  
B2 –Michael Dennis Browne Bird's Grave  
B3 –Michael Dennis Browne Asleep Poem  
B4 –Michael Dennis Browne My Mother's Name  
B5 –Michael Dennis Browne The Speech Boat  
B6 –Michael Dennis Browne Little Women  
B7 –Michael Dennis Browne Flood  
B8 –Michael Dennis Browne Hide And Go Seek  
B9 –Michael Dennis Browne Thinking Of Trees, January  
B10 –Helen Thorington From Dream Sequence: Dream 2  
B11 –Helen Thorington From Dream Sequence: Dream 3  
B12 –Alexis Deveaux Torchlight (For Nina Simone)  
B13 –Alexis Deveaux August 10th  
B14 –Alexis Deveaux Are There No More Prophets (For Gwen)  
B15 –Alexis Deveaux Cold Hands / Warm Pussy  
B16 –Alexis Deveaux These Weapons  
C1 –Myra Sklarew From The Travels Of The Itinerant Freda Aharon 12:11
C2 –Ed Kaplan The Same Is True 3:45
C3 –Opal Palmer Market Woman 2:48
C4 –Robert McDowell (6) Desert Landscape  
C5 –Robert McDowell (6) The Rainmaker  
C6 –Robert McDowell (6) Horse Shoes  
C7 –Robert McDowell (6) What The Pole Said  
C8 –Robert McDowell (6) The Fit  
C9 –Robert McDowell (6) The Trader  
D1 –James McAuley Requiem 9:23
D2 –Judith Daniel The Couple  
D3 –Judith Daniel Untitled  
D4 –Richard Ploetz Once Upon A Time A Man Came Out Of The DarkRead By [Read With] – Jacklyn Maddux 7:28
D5 –Rochelle Owens The Grandfather Poems 8:08
Companies, etc.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – The Watershed Foundation
  • Copyright (c) – The Watershed Foundation
  • Cover – Peter van Rieper
  • Editor [Advisory Editors] – Alvin Aubert, Audre Lorde, James Den Boer, Lorenzo Thomas, Lucille Clifton
  • Editor [Associate Editors] – Ahmos Zu-Bolton, Anne Becker, E. Ethelbert Miller
  • Editor [Editorial Director] – Alan D. Austin* 
  • Editor [Editors-At-Large] – David Franks (2), Gayle Lauradunn, John Wellman (4), Joseph Bruchac, Julie Huff, Liam Rector, Tim Dlugos
  • Editor [Managing Editor] – Elizabeth Wray
  • Engineer [Post Production Engineer] – Frank Bullard
Released in a screen-printed cardboard box / jacket 4 2/8 x 7 2.5/8 inch x 0 6/8 inch (10.9 x 18.6 x 2 cm) with six-panel booklet insert with "program notes".
The closing lit calls this a "cassebook".

Total duration for A2 to A5 is listed to be 6.52.
Total duration for B1 to B9 is listed to be 11:45.
Total duration for B10 to B11 is listed to be 6:15.
Total duration for B12 to B16 is listed to be 10:51. All poems c 1975, 1979 Alexis DeVeaux.
Total duration for C6 to C9 is listed to be 9:54.
Total duration for D2 to D3 is listed to be 3:44.

Lou Lipsitz' "Brooklyn Summer" previously appeared in CHOICE: his "The Night Before The Electron, 1968" was published in MAGAZIN OF POLITICAL SCIENCE.
Alexis DeVeaux' "August 10th" appeared in the New Haven ADVOCATE.
Parts of Myra Sklarew's "The Travels Of The Itinerant Freda Aharon" are being concurrently anthologized in Second Rising, Scop Publications, Washington, D.C., Stacy Tuthill, editor.
Sections 4& 6 from james McAuley's "Requiem" are being published concurrently in the NEW ORLEANS REVIEW.