Top Back to Overview
Show only Direct Results
Show All Related Results
Back to Category-Overview
Back to Category-Search
(1 of 1 images)

Etudes Boreales Ryoanji

Artist: John Cage

Year: 1985
Country: United States
Catalog No: Mode, mode 1/2
Format: Vinyl Lp-2


  Etudes Boreales For Piano Solo
A1 Etudes Boreales 4:21
A2 Etudes Boreales 5:49
A3 Etudes Boreales 4:24
A4 Etudes Boreales 5:44
  Etudes Boreales For Cello Solo
B1 Etudes Boreales 4:12
B2 Etudes Boreales 5:35
B3 Etudes Boreales 4:09
B4 Etudes Boreales 5:38
  Etudes Boreales (Duo Version)
C1 Etudes Boreales 4:17
C2 Etudes Boreales 5:45
C3 Etudes Boreales 4:18
C4 Etudes Boreales 5:43
  Ryoanji (Solos For Voice, Solo For Percussion)
D Ryoanji 21:27


  • Artwork By [Front Cover Illustration] – John Cage
  • CelloFrances-Marie Uitti (tracks: B1 to B4, C1 to C4)
  • Composed By, Liner NotesJohn Cage
  • Design [Cover Design], Layout [Inner Layout]Brian Brandt
  • Engineer [Recording]David Avidor
  • Photography [Frances-marie Uitti] – Wim Riemens
  • Photography [Isabelle Ganz] – Patsy Cravens
  • Photography [John Cage, Michael Pugliese, Back Cover] – Eileen Daley
  • PianoMichael Pugliese (tracks: A1 to A4, C1 to C4)
  • ProducerBrian Brandt, Eileen Daley, John Anton


Etudes Boreales (1978)
Ryoanji (1983)

Composer supervised world premiere recordings

200 copies were signed and numbered by John Cage

Recording Dates (1984): Etudes Boreales for Cello 7/14; Etudes Boreales for Piano 9/14; Duo version mixed on 9/15; Ryoanji 12/13
Recorded and Mixed at: Sorcerer Sound, New York City
DMM Mastering and Pressing: Teldec, Germany

Ms. Uitti's cello by Carlo Tononi, Venice 1710
Mr. Pugliese performed on (in and around) a Steinway B 7-foot piano, New York 1898

Mode extends thanks to: Lars Ingwersen, Mimi Johnson, Paul Marotta, William S. Reder, Harold Singer and Harold Wortsman
Extra thanks to Andrew Culver for "sound advice"
Special thanks to Michael Pugliese for efforts beyond the call of duty
And, of course, John Cage — without whom this recording would not be

This set is Volume 1 in Mode's series of the Music of John Cage